Raising the Standard for The Orange Journal

General housekeeping notice for TOJ writers, old and new.

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal
Published in
4 min readMar 31, 2022

--

Raising the Standard for The Orange Journal
Created by Susie Pinon in Canva

To TOJ Family…thanks for all the fabulous stories you have contributed over the past few months. Thanks for giving me the chance to add editorial experience to my resume. Thanks for teaching me about all sorts of things through your written word.

Some things you need to know…

𝒯𝒽ℯ 𝒪𝓇𝒶𝓃ℊℯ 𝒥ℴ𝓊𝓇𝓃𝒶𝓁 is currently at 1.7k+ followers. This is great!

As an editor, I have been fine-tuning my approach and learn something new every day.

As of April, each piece submitted to TOJ will receive one critique. For many people, this will be referring them to the formatting guidelines. All edits should be made in one attempt. If guidelines are not met, I will remove the piece from queue and ask you to kindly resubmit when all necessary adjustments have been made.

That may sound cruel, but my mental health comes first. No more back and forth. It’s eating up all my time, and many folks are taking more than they should be from me.

Not anymore.

Read the guidelines and you will know everything you need to get accepted.

--

--

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉