The F-Word is the Best Word

It’s just so versatile.

Susie Pinon
Published in
3 min readMar 30, 2021

--

Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

I have been an avid curser for over ten years now. Why, you ask? Well, I was simply raised in a household that cursed…like a lot. The cursing wasn’t always used in a negative way, as some might assume. Most of the time, it was used for emphasis.

I have read many articles that claim that people who drop the f-bomb more often are more intelligent. I’m not sure if I believe that, but I don’t plan to remove cursing from my vocabulary — ever.

I have been told by my mom that cursing is not lady-like, and have responded by removing myself from the status of a lady. I have come to the conclusion that if someone doesn’t like me because I curse, then I don’t like them.

There is such a vast variety of uses for the word fuck in modern English. I think it’s the most versatile word I could think of that native-English speakers can agree has the most meanings of any word.

Historical Roots of the Word

Curious to find the birthing of my favorite word ever, I did some research to find the fantastic individual(s) that created the word fuck. Surprisingly, the word didn’t even exist before the 15th century.

It’s possible that it came to fruition by the German or Dutch, and was most often used to describe…

--

--

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉