The Salt Cave: a Wellness Hidden Gem!

A Personal Oasis and a Tonic for My Soul

Heather Paz
The Orange Journal
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2022

--

Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I used to suffer from an autoimmune disease. Regular salt therapy sessions are one of the healing modalities that helped me to get better.

In short, salt caves are a total stress-buster. After every 50-minute session, I feel much more relaxed. Aches and pains associated with inflammation melt away, I breathe freely, and I feel refreshed.

Also, I’ve found relief whenever I’ve gone to the salt cave with allergies, a headache, or any other temporary ailment.

The salt therapy spa I frequent has two salt caves and additional salt paneled rooms for massage, reiki, and breathing chair therapy.

Inside the Cave

The salt cave is a tranquil and reposeful space. Before entering, guests are instructed to lower their voices and remove their shoes. Once inside the salt cave, there is no talking.

The floor is covered in coarse pink salt that feels tactile on your bare feet. An employee told me that walking on salt aids in the practice of grounding.

Looking about, a soft, coral aesthetic emanates from the softly back-lit salt rocks that line the walls. They are pleasantly warm to the touch.

--

--