This is Why I take Hot/Cold Showers

I finally joined the cold shower revolution to fight anxiety

Jordan Ring
The Orange Journal
Published in
6 min readMar 2, 2023

--

Credit: Volodymyr Zakharov

I’m sure you’ve heard of the life-changing magic of taking cold showers? It’s all the rage among serial growth addicts (i.e. all millennials) who can’t help but try anything new that might just boost their health and wellbeing.

I don’t necessarily like jumping on the bandwagon and adding to the noise, but I’ve experienced the benefits of cold showers myself, and it works.

But it didn’t have the effect I expected.

Cold showers boosted my mental acumen, beyond my wildest expectations. I don’t want to say it cured my anxious tendencies, but it worked better than anything I’ve tried.

It’s as if a nagging fear was simply washed away.

It’s hard to explain, but I’ll try.

In this post I’ll share:

  1. My experience with cold showers.
  2. What it does for me.
  3. The simple half and half approach I recommend for making cold showers part of your daily routine.

Experiencing the Magic

It all started three months back when I listened to The Way of the Iceman, by Wim Hof.

--

--

Jordan Ring
The Orange Journal

Author/Ghostwriter/Editor. Get better at book outlining, brainstorming, and organizing with my course: https://courses.jmring.com/ ✍️