Three Ways to Help Job Burnout

Don’t let instant gratification be the enemy

Vivian Stevenson
The Orange Journal
Published in
3 min readAug 27, 2023

--

Girl with hands over face. The tips of her fingers are covered with a charcoal substance to give a burned out effect.
Photo by Jacqueline Day on Unsplash

The more I explore the internet, the more I recognize burnout, specifically job burnout. I’ve learned about quiet quitting at companies that don’t respect their employees. There is a form of normalization around discussing our feelings toward the workplace, especially on the internet, where thousands of people will hype you up and share their relatable stories.

I have been with the same company for over five years, and I have experienced a myriad of side effects that come with job burnout. I work at a place full of what I love, books, and I still find it hard to walk through those doors most days. I’ll make it known that it’s not always the job that causes these feelings, but it can be the biggest hurdle.

I’ve been researching how to remedy the lack of excitement that comes with working for what feels like little reward; a stack of greasy pizzas will not help mental illness. I’d love to share my findings by giving you three ways to help get you out of that funk.

1. Seek Instant Gratification Elsewhere

Instant gratification is yearned for but not often granted.

I understand that it’s difficult to find healthier aspects of your life when you work a 9–5 every day, but they exist. Spending time with the right friends can boost your mood immediately. You don’t have to leave the house or spend money to have a good time.

Those who cannot raise their social meter enough to be around others should try to move their body everyday. Even if it’s just going for a walk around the neighborhood.

2. There’s No Shame in Asking for Help

Your personal life will seep into the workplace if you work a job for an extended period, as much as you hate to admit it. I still had to pay my bills while going through heartbreak. I’m fortunate enough to work in an environment where they encourage seeking help, but I understand that not everyone has that. Therapy isn’t cheap either, but there are less expensive options than your typical therapist.

I’ve tried therapy once, but that therapist wasn’t for me. I haven’t tried to go back, but it helps getting an outside source to recognize what you’re struggling to improve.

There are also no rules stating that a loved one can’t help you. Remind yourself that they are not professionals but confidants. Listen to what they are saying, but don’t be afraid to continue research on your own time.

3. Set Boundaries in Every Aspect of Your Life

Setting boundaries is a grueling part of this process. Saying no doesn’t always end in a neat package. Saying yes gets whoever you are dealing with off your back, but try to hold your ground.

Not only does boundary setting free up more time for self-commitment, but it also lets others know that you refuse to be taken advantage of. If your boss refuses to give you time off, maybe it is time to search for something more fulfilling. If your friend only visits you on their time, reconsider the friendship. Don’t agree to something immediately; give it time to marinate, then consider circling back.

Only you can decide how you live your life at the end of the day. There are many ways to avoid burnout, especially in the workplace. Don’t let yourself be walked on by others, and take care of your physical and mental health first because you’re more important than the 9–5 grind.

Connect With Me:

You can become a member by using my link. I will receive a small cut of the membership at no additional cost to you.

Medium | Goodreads

toj

Follow The Orange Journal so you don’t miss a post. Do you love to write about self-improvement and personal development? Learn how to be added as a writer here. 🍊

--

--

Vivian Stevenson
The Orange Journal

An avid reader who dabbles in art and baking along the way.