Wasting Time On Those Video Games

How wrong the adults of my childhood were about “those” video games.

Neth Williams
Published in
4 min readMay 12, 2022

--

Consoles, video games, video game consoles
Photo by Author | I’ve been training for years. I may add this picture to my resume.

Video games have been a target of controversy for as long as they’ve existed. Much like any new technology, older generations saw no value in it and thought it was destroying children. Much how TV destroyed children before that, and radio before that, and comics before that…

Think these days are over? HA! Remember the uproar over fidget spinners?

Nintendo started me down a writer’s path.

I recently posted about how important it is to give your 100% to everything and to be grateful for opportunities that come your way. The summary is how by expressing gratitude for an “Exceeded my Expectations” review on a project I wrote, I was selected as a go-to for this client of my client — a tech company.

I used to dream of writing for Nintendo Power Magazine. It was what got me into reading, as a child. Fast forward to adulthood, I get paid (well) to write articles about the very technology that my parents, aunts, uncles, teachers, etc. all said would ruin my life.

Nintendo instilled my interest in Shakespeare.

--

--

Neth Williams
The Orange Journal

After almost 20 years working as a paralegal, I use my writing skills and ability to translate complex ideas into real words.