What is a Golden Birthday?

I wasn’t aware of this until I had kids — they teach me a lot

Michele Maize
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2022

--

Photo by Patti Black on Unsplash

It’s my daughter’s golden birthday today. It’s also her sweet 16. It’s pretty cool to have her golden birthday be her 16th birthday, she thinks.

Your golden birthday is when the date of your birth coincides with your age. So, she turns 16 on November 16th.

Some fun facts

Joan Bramsch, who was an American teacher and author, began celebrating each of her 5 children’s golden birthdays starting in 1955.

Golden birthdays are also called champagne birthdays and lucky birthdays.

Golden birthdays are more popular now than they were when I was younger, which makes sense. I would have liked to celebrate my 23rd birthday golden style!

This day is supposed to be one of the most special of your lifetime.

What is really cool is that everyone gets a golden birthday. Just a little extra reason to celebrate life, especially with the people that you love the most.

If you happened to miss your golden birthday, you can celebrate your double golden birthday. My birthday is on the 23rd, so I will be celebrating my 46th as my double golden birthday in a few years.

--

--

Michele Maize

Sober Traveler | Wannabe Vegan | Yoga Addict. Extrovert turned introvert who loves dachshunds. Owner of "The Maze". Editor at Black Bear and Globetrotters.