Why Does Salt Help Ease Anxiety?

Seeking alternative methods to help you is innovative.

Susie Pinon
Published in
5 min readOct 6, 2021

--

salt eases anxiety
Photo by Artem Beliaikin from Pexels

Life is always changing and transitioning. Some chapters are longer and harder to read than others. Through the ebbs and flows, we may face emotional roller coasters jam-packed with unintentional growth, pain, perseverance, and character development.

I’ve been battling anxiety for as long as I can remember.

Just recently, I decided to quit my anxiety-ridden job and start to wean myself off of prescription antidepressants after eight years. As I implement alternative mental regulation tactics, I consider the potential consequences of distancing myself from the emotional crutch that I had been led to lean on for practically a decade.

Today, I found a new method that instantly eased my anxious heart. I ate a bunch of salt and it felt really good.

I Started Thinking Outside of the Box

I know what helps prevent an anxiety attack for me — deep breathing, yoga, daytime walks in the sun, singing, cooking, dancing, the list is endless. The problem is incorporating things that make me feel alive into days overflowing with work, work, and more work.

There just never seems to be enough time left in the day for self-care. When I…

--

--

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉