Why I Quit Trying to Prove My Rightness

When I finally did, my life began to transform.

Susie Pinon
Published in
4 min readNov 8, 2020

--

Photo by Will Turner on Unsplash

We all like to be right. We all love to prove our rightness. It’s satisfying to know we were right about something, and we may even relish the fact that someone else is wrong about something.

When we are right, it helps us build up our self-worth and perhaps maintain a reputation of intelligence and intellect. Being right isn’t about objectivity. It’s more of a symbol of status.

And when I let go of trying so very hard to be right all the time, life changed for the better.

Humility hasn’t been an easy lesson for me. Neither was being humbled by various life experiences that taught me to look at the glass half full.

In therapy, years ago, I found myself with a tendency to focus on just one primary issue. That was improving the quality of my relationship with my mom and learning how to effectively communicate while avoiding an explosive temper.

And so many years later, I have finally mastered the art of letting go of my rightness. And wow, does it feel good.

--

--

Susie Pinon
The Orange Journal

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉