Words the Most Powerful Weapon - Only Words Can Kill the Soul

It takes a second to say a word, but the consequences can last a lifetime

Janin Lyndovsky
The Orange Journal
Published in
4 min readMay 21, 2022

--

Early morning storm (Photo by Author)

A few weeks ago, I called my parents, who had visitors at that time. When my parents shared distressing information with me, Olaf, a ten-year-old boy, came to my parents’ room and wanted to talk to me. I have a very good relationship with Olaf; for him, I’m someone who understands him well, he misses me a lot, and he gets very excited every time he gets a chance to talk to me.

However, I couldn’t talk to him immediately. I was too upset with what my dad told me, what had happened to them, and I had to finish this conversation first.

Olaf got hurt and upset. When I finally could talk to him, he didn’t want to talk to me anymore; not long after, he took his mom’s phone and sent me a message that he regretted shortly after. He and his mum apologised for what Olaf did, and all was good, but I used this opportunity to teach Olaf a lesson, and I sent him an email.

We all get upset, and it is easy for us to say something we regret short after. Therefore I wanted to share this letter with a broader audience as a reminder to all of us to pause before we say something we could regret. It takes a second to say a word, but the consequences can last a

--

--

Janin Lyndovsky
The Orange Journal

Life-stories of elders taught me more than any school or university. Now I hope through sharing my stories I can inspire others to chase & live their dreams