Your Story Isn’t Over Yet

I see you because my story isn’t over yet either.

Amy Beth
The Orange Journal
Published in
1 min readMay 17, 2022

--

Photo by Timothy L Brock on Unsplash

Noticing the barista with a “;” tattoo on her wrist, the semicolon “My story isn’t over yet” suicide prevention message jolts me.

I wish I could tell her that after desperation came for me, I recommitted to a life that eventually became immeasurably brighter.

Only rarely now does the dark bipolar fog creep beyond the medicine that keeps brain chemicals in balance.

Just in case she is on the verge of forgetting, I would like to remind her that it is not selfish to take care of yourself first, it is an act of love for others too.

Instead, I say, “I love your tattoo” and hope that it will convey, “I see you because my story isn’t over yet either. Take good care of yourself. Your light matters.”

--

--