Oh, hello…

Jada Gomez
The Other Girl
Published in
1 min readMay 6, 2017

It’s been a minute since I wrote something purely from me, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been inspired by a million and one people and experiences. Many know that I spent last year as the Site Director at Latina.com, a season I am so proud of. Along with an incredible team passionate about Latinx content, somehow I became a voice for Afro-Latinas, and it’s an honor I accept humbly and with tons of treasured responsibility.

During that time, I met an aspiring journalist, Jenay Wright. The Afro Panamanian had been on my radar thanks to her Instagram, HashtagIAmEnough, dedicated to Afro-Latinas. She interviewed me for a project, and while having coffee, during a time when I should have been giving her words of wisdom, she hit me with an idea. “J, you are the Other girl. You talk about fitness, identity, being a girl’s girl, in a way no one is speaking to us, and we’re drawn to you.”

Noted. Humbly and excitedly noted.

I’ll share thoughts, musings and insights from my stories here. I hope you will read, and that I can help encourage, entertain, enlighten or humor you in some sort of way.

--

--

Jada Gomez
The Other Girl

Senior Platform Editor at Medium. Girl with the long last name from the Empire State. NYU Alum. Runner. Puppy Mommy. Smiler.