3 Quotes: Reflection #10

sharmainebautista
1 min readApr 11, 2016

--

  1. “Surrendering myself to this effort, I re-created and relived in the text and I was writing the experiences that I lived at a time when I did not yet read words.” (quote that stood out to me. profound in his ability to deeply understand readings versus just reading it) pg. 20
  2. “Only by learning the significance could they know how to memorize it, to fix it. Mechanically memoring the description of an object does not constitute knowing the object and undertaken to memorize the description, is neither real reading nor does it result in knowledge of the object to which the text refers.” pg. 22
  3. “To avoid misinterpretation of what I’m saying, it is important to stress that my criticism of the magical view of the word does not mean that I take an irresponsible position on the obligation we all have-teachers and students to read the classic literature in a given field seriously I order to make teh texts our own and to create the intellectual discipline without which our practice as teachers and students is not viable.” pg. 23

--

--