Individuality

Cassandra Re
3 min readMar 22, 2017

--

WHAT: Before this class, I never really thought that race could be related to anything other than racism. Through these readings and class discussions, I can now say that I am more informed about how race relates to other things like society and structural issues. Racial issues can stem from many different settings, but Pollock focuses on the racial issues that stem from educational settings. There are many stigmas that exist in the education system that are based on the races of the children. For example, some stereotypes about Asian children are that they are extremely intelligent, specifically in math and science. On the other hand, some stereotypes about African Americans or Hispanics are that they are not smart and rather dumb. What most educators don’t realize is that a person’s race doesn’t define their educational abilities and limitations. Pollock writes, “Educational policies and ‘outside’ realities of health care, housing, and family employment have huge effects on the opportunities the children in our schools need and receive” (Pollock). The ethnic background one possesses does not create limits on one’s capability to retain information.

This analysis by Pollock expands my understanding of racism. I thought I knew enough about racism through education and personal experiences, but as previously stated, I only thought that race was related to racism. Now, I can change my perspective of others, especially in school. Pollock writes, “Individual students have individual academic needs, and educators must analyze these needs” (Pollock). This really spoke to me after our class discussed Pollock’s idea of “colorblindness.” I feel that if educators look at the needs of individual students, then the educators can better help those students. Individuality, I believe, is a key component to blurring the lines of race and sharpening the lines of equality.

SO WHAT: Ladson-Billings writes, “Culture is regularly used as a code word for difference and perhaps deviance in the world of teacher education” (Ladson-Billings). The word “culture” is often used as an excuse to mask racial inequality. Some people say that it is a person’s “culture” that makes them less intelligent than another. For example, a student of Ladson-Billings said that African Americans were always loud in the classroom. Ladson-Billings suggested that maybe those children were excessively loud due to their adolescent age rather than their race or skin color. The problem with using this word in the education system is that it categorizes children through their race and not their educational ability. Blaming a child’s culture for their behavior can be harmful to the confidence of the child; thus, this could lead to less motivation to succeed. Also, it also reinforces institutional racism.

Treating people as racial group members can not only help them, but it can also harm them. I think that the way that treating people as racial group members can help them because it gives those people others to relate to in the classroom setting. Many people tend to group together naturally through common interests or common characteristics. I think that it can harm them because it can cause those people to feel alienated and marginalized; thus, it can lower their self-motivation and self-confidence again.

NOW WHAT: At my community partner, Rotacare, I don’t really see acts of “colorblindness.” I think it may be harder for them to be colorblind due to the fact that almost every patient that comes through the clinic is of Hispanic descent. That does not mean they don’t act colorblind outside of the clinic, but personally, I have not witnessed any such thing. However, I believe that Rotacare takes pride in the fact that they are able to have such a strong foundation to provide healthcare services to those who cannot afford healthcare.

I think that the people at Rotacare are aware of the people they assist and I think from this, it is safe to assume that they are anti-racist. They support equality in all aspects. I think the fact that they provide a free clinic open to anyone in the community is anti-racist in itself. I think that going forward, if someone makes a racialized comment or tries to start a race conversation at Rotacare, I might think about what they say with an open mind. I don’t know how those people grew up or what they were raised to believe, so I feel as though I shouldn’t make assumptions or make judgments based on what they say. Rather, I feel that I would either agree with what they say or agree to disagree to what they say. I’d like to try and change my perspectives more often to better understand other people.

--

--