Hoping For The Future

Karisza Wanta
The “Other”
Published in
4 min readApr 25, 2017

Critical Reflection #9

What? I will never forget the story that Carlos, the Senior Program Director of Kids Club, told me and two other students on the day of orientation about most of the families from the Canal whose children attend Kids Club. Many may already know that Kids Club is for the kids in first to sixth grade who may need extra help on homework every day, as well as reaching their individual reading levels. This may be hard for these students to attain because they are not getting the necessary help at home, which will most likely hinder them in becoming successful in school. What not a lot of people know is that this is because most of these students come from low-income families whom are also undocumented immigrants with a good percentage being Latinos and do not speak English very well. Even though they want their kids to reach their potential and be able to achieve a higher education, it may not be as simple because these students need assistance to get the work done. Something that I learned that was upsetting to me is the poor living conditions that each of their families face living in the Canal. Since San Rafael is an expensive city to live in and the Canal being the poorest part of this city, these low-income families are forced to make use of whatever living space they can afford, whether it is a small apartment, a room, or even a couch to rent for an entire family. Such living conditions can affect a child’s learning and stress level. My experience with Kids Club from the first time I participated last year to this year is different in the sense that I am working with students differently. Last year, I was focused on one student at a time when I would take a student outside the classroom and help them with reading and homework individually. This semester, I am mostly working with kids in a reading group setting to give them a bit more practice and testing with reading words and reading comprehension. However, in both situations and the story that Carlos shared with us, it is evident why the achievement gap exists between the Kids Club students and those who live in a wealthier neighborhood. In a study by the Catholic Charities in 2016, in comparison to a wealthier area in Marin, like Tiburon: Bel Aire that has the income of 10.0 in the Human Development Index (HDI) 0–10 Scale, the Canal is only at 2.65. In correlation to education, Tiburon is at 10.0 and the Canal is at 0.86. According to Ronald David Glass, “Revolutionary hope identifies possible actions despite situational limits; it recognizes that justice requires ongoing work and struggle. It is precisely the embodiment of this work and struggle in a way of life that avoids the trap of despair” (p. 64). Similarly, being hopeful about the systemic inequality in our society for change to occur is what will push for closing the achievement gap. Even though this may be the case today, I believe that organizations like Kids Club provide that hope for students to receive the same opportunities for higher education as everyone else around them.

So What? In the video “The Danger of Silence,” Clint Smith is encouraging us to not be silent about today’s issues. He is saying that silence only adds to the discrimination and hatred that is happening around us because not speaking up is the same as agreeing to these. Being silent is being ignorant, and having a voice is what creates change; so, he tells his students to voice out the truth in what they believe in through poetry. It angers and saddens me at the same time how ignorant some people are, especially those leading our country, as they stereotype and label undocumented immigrants as criminals and “illegal.” As if trying to make it out of poverty and working to support a family is not hard enough for some, there is a discourse about being an undocumented immigrant that they do not have access to education or the opportunity to advance in this country. Immigrants are seen in such a negative light as if they are not welcome in this country, especially with the new presidency. I believe that whoever works hard and contribute in society should have just as much rights as everyone else. I have witnessed these students work hard and thrive the past year since I have been coming into Kids Club, and I see so much potential in them to succeed and attain a higher education. I would hate for reasons, such as their cultural background and immigration status, to hinder their chances of success in the future.

Now What? Through theory and my experience with Kids Club this semester, I learned to that a purpose of my partnership with this community partner is a give and take relationship. Although I was coming in to help the students with their homework and reading, I realized that I am learning more from them. In my future career as a nurse, this will come in handy because my relationship with my patients can very much be the same. It does not have to be one-sided in which I am helping them get better and having that upper hand. This experience has taught me to see my relationship with other people, like the patients, in the hospital as equal because the patients and I would have to collaborate to find the best form of care for them. This is a way to build trust, and would make the experience easier and more worthwhile working as equals. Furthermore, without this experience I would have never known about the situation of the minorities in this country, specifically the low-income families who are also undocumented immigrants. It made me aware of their hardships and the injustice they are facing in society because of the shaming and labeling by our current president. Getting to experience this through the student’s point of view and having a relationship with them has expanded my knowledge about issues that I may not have been aware of or passionate about in the past.

--

--