Our Next Generation

Elvira Solyn Coronado
The “Other”
Published in
5 min readApr 12, 2017

A Critical Reflection on We Make the Road by Walking by Myles Horton, Paulo Freire, and WOKE presenters

What?

Our next generation needs guidance. We all live by words and actions. Education is an influential key to unlocking knowledge and understanding. Myles Horton and Paulo Freire, in We Make the Road by Walking, describe the importance of education and the impact it makes on individuals. Freire states,

“But I also know that without practice there’s no knowledge; at least it’s difficult to know without practice. We have to have a certain theoretical kind of practice in order to know also. But practice in itself is not its theory. It creates knowledge, but it is not its own theory” (98).

Freire explains how experience or practice is essential to truly learning and understanding a situation. Similar to this course, the implementation of the service-learning program in this class gives experience and practice for us to have a better understanding or knowledge of what we are reading and learning about in class. Horton and Freire then explain how theory is the perception of what is being taught. Freire states, “Knowledge is changed to the extent that reality also moves and changes. Then theory also does the same” (101). After practice, knowledge about a situation can be changed and the theory about the situation beforehand is affected. An example would be how I have learned about the my community partner, Kids Club, through the training session. This gave me knowledge about the situation I was going to experience. At this point in the semester, I have been to Kids Club many times and “practiced”. My experience has caused me to develop a theory about my understanding of the situations the students that attend Kids Club face. It is essential for individuals to have awareness of the necessity of practice, knowledge, and theory when exposed to societal issues. From the WOKE presentation, the concept of dialogue was brought up as an ideal way to start a discussion. By speaking about an issue and listening to the stories other individuals have, this process aids in the development of understanding and compassion for other individuals.

So What?

When learning about the marginalization and social inequity of individuals, it is hard not to feel deeply frustrated with society. By feeling these emotions and dreaming of a better system, we are able to side with justice and equality. For many individuals it is easy to not take sides and claim to be neutral regarding current events. Many individuals see this as a way to stay out of arguments and to follow trends. I agree with Horton’s comment, “You say you’re neutral in what you do, you aren’t that concerned with it” (105). This statement portrays how individuals who claim to be neutral may unintentionally be stating that they do not care enough about the issues on hand. I have personally had many conversations with individuals that have stated that they were neutral regarding important issues. After the results of our last election, I felt engaged in discussing my thoughts with my peers. It was common for some of my friends to state that they do not like to talk about politics. These individuals impact society with their neutrality. Without starting a conversation regarding societal issues and current events, these individuals live in a bubble of oblivion. Horton states,

“It’s a code word for the existing system. It has nothing to do with anything but agreeing to what is and will always be — that’s what neutrality is. Neutrality is just following the crowd. Neutrality is just being what the system asks us to be” (102).

By staying neutral regarding impactful issues, justice and equity will never be accomplished in our country. The WOKE presenters exemplify an ideal approach to this situation. By educating and listening to the individualized stories of the younger generations, their voices will be heard and used to enlighten many individuals who claim to be neutral. Individuals need to be exposed to the many examples of inequity individuals experience in America to later develop a stance and understanding to why this is an important issue. When I tell my friends back home about my community partner, Kids Club, they do not ask me for the real reason why I see these kids. The students who attend Kids Club all live in poor socioeconomic households of the Canal area in Marin County. Next time I mention my community partner to my friends I will explain to them how through this experience I am practicing proximity to what I am learning. I will explain that the students I see are part of a community that is marginalized due to their economic status, citizenship, and the language they speak. After telling them about my community partner, I believe that they will be able to understand the importance of seeing these students and having awareness of the structural issue their community faces.

Now What?

Thinking about my past elementary school experiences with my teachers, I realize how much of a positive impact my past teachers have affected me. I remember my preschool teacher giving me books to keep and to read after class. I remember helping my third grade teacher during recess with my two best friends to grade papers and later receive sparkly pencils as a thank you for our help. I remember becoming a sixth grade reading buddy to a kindergartener and having one student always request for me in front of everyone right when we walk through the door. From all these positive experiences, I value the importance of education and reaching out to other people. When I am paired one-on-one with students at Kids Club, I remember my experience as a sixth grader reading to a kindergartener and think about whether I am making an impact for their future education.

One of the factors as to why I aspire to become a nurse was because of the positive experiences I had while in the hospital in pediatrics. I had the same doctor and nurse see me since I was still in my mother’s womb up until I turned 18 years old. I was always surprised when my doctor would ask me about my piano lessons, what I wanted to be when I grew up, or how I was doing in school every time I saw her. Her asking me these questions made my doctor visits more personal and now I aspire to become a nurse that individuals respect and feel happy to see. My doctor’s efforts to check up on not just my current health but also my academia inspired me to be as caring as she was. Nursing theorist, Patricia Benner, explains how the perspective healthcare providers have truly affects the care they give to their patients. Some healthcare providers forget the human element in their patients and seek curing them rather than caring for them. Reading Benner’s writing has also inspired me to care while help cure my future patients.

Similar to the lost human element some healthcare providers have, individuals who become neutral or uninformed regarding marginalized communities are choosing to disregard the emotions and experiences the marginalized individuals have. An important theme taught in this course is awareness to these issues and the need to discuss the problems of society to later bring justice and reform.

--

--