The Impact of a Voice

Samantha Easley
The “Other”
Published in
4 min readApr 26, 2017

WHAT: At my community partner site, the Ritter House, I have had many experiences with particular individuals who come to the food pantry. Working at the food pantry is very fast pace, so I don’t have much time to really talk with everyone that receives the services. When I get to talk to someone more than once, that’s when I really begin to feel a connection. I don’t necessarily get to talk about their life stories, but I get to speak with them while bagging their food. Having the understanding of why they have to come to the Ritter House to get food to feed themselves, their children, and in some cases, their pets. This mere fact demonstrates the burden that they have faced in their lives. When people come in and are willing to have a nice conversation, get excited that they see a familiar face, and express their gratitude for our volunteer hours. I know that they are facing many hardships, yet they still put a smile on their face when they see us. This is the most inspirational observation that I’ve made while working at the Ritter House. Ronald David Glass mentions, “Revolutionary hope identifies possible actions despite situational limits; it recognizes that justice requires ongoing work and struggle” (Glass 338). The people at the Ritter House bring life to this definition of hope. They also bring me hope into my life and future. They have showed me that despite what life throws at someone, there is always going to be a reason to smile. Having a reason to smile everyday is essentially a reason to live for me.

SO WHAT: As Clint Smith told his story about stating his truth and not being silenced by fear of how others would react or the social norms, he mentioned an experience that stayed with me. He explained that he gave up speaking one year for lent. This being something I can’t imagine doing, made him realize the importance of a voice. According to Smith, in the face of injustice is where we can have the most impact if we are willing to break the silence. Clint Smith said, “I was more concerned with touching the screen on my apple than feeding him one” (Smith). This section of his story spoke to my experience with my community partner. Having a closer relationship with the people who utilize the services, I feel that I have to reevaluate my past actions when I see someone who is homeless on the street. My experience has brought out a passion to help and advocate for people who are in need, more than I’ve ever done before. An unspoken truth about the people at my community partner is the prevalence of mental illness. As a psychology major, I am more aware of the different mental illnesses and how they can impact a person’s life. I firmly believe that there should be more awareness of how mental illness impacts people who are subjected to homelessness. It will combat some of the stereotypes that deem people who are homeless as lazy or unwilling to work.

NOW WHAT: Starting off at the Ritter House, I was not sure what to expect by the last one of my visits. I thought that it was going to be another one of those experiences that I get something small out of, like of feeling happy only in the moment. In reality, there were many moments that I felt sad and it is okay. This experience shed light on many things that are and can be relevant to my life. I have realized Glass’s statement to be true, “My courage grew with each experience, and as my fears became less fearsome, my power increased and I engaged a broader and riskier range of situations” (Glass 338). I did not expect to develop a passion and desire to help like I have. Going into this experience, I was very nervous that I would not be good at the tasks I was assigned, but I now know that I have to overcome things I am faced with to understand the true meaning of my actions. Through this experience with my community partner and this course in general, I learned to practice my desire to help when I have the chance. Working with this particular group, I have become more focused on the fact we are all human beings. Some are in need of a little more help than others. Although where the people at my community partner lack in finances, they make up with genuine empathy and compassion, which is something that even the wealthiest people do not have. Overall, I will continue to live by Glass’s statement, “Neither alone nor together can people accomplish all that must be done, but this limit relieves no one from the obligation to do whatever she or he can” (Glass 340). In my life, I will be satisfied with my actions if I can say that I genuinely tried to make a difference. At this point, I am happy that I have learned and experienced everything at the Ritter House to decide that I am content with making every effort that I can to help others.

--

--