Outbox: September 22–28

September 22, 2014

Sameer Vasta
The outbox.
6 min readSep 29, 2014

--

My cousin, after a long battle with depression, took his life this past weekend. It has been, unsurprisingly, a difficult time for the whole family, but we have made conscious efforts to focus on the joys we were able to have with him, and the lovely memories we created together and that we will always have.

I had not seen my cousin for a couple of months, but every time we did get to spend time together, he was always excited, enthused about the many things going on in my life. He would ask me about work, life, love, and he would be exuberant whenever I would share good news.

Today, while I was sitting with my aunt, his mother, she turned to me and thanked me. I asked her why, and she smiled as she told me that my cousin, upon hearing the news of my engagement, had beamed in delight. He had told my aunt that it was among the best news he had ever heard, and that he was bursting with happiness for me. She thanked me because my news had made him smile, widely and genuinely, and that smile is what she remembers of him now.

Sometimes, when I need time to process my thoughts, I sit back and stare at the sky.

September 23, 2014

A clear day to give our last respects to a loved one.

This I have learned over the past two days: when someone passes away in “avoidable” circumstances, there is a propensity, an inclination, to assign blame. This assignation is amorphous and untargeted. People make up reasons to assign blame, and then make up the recipients of that blame. Sometimes that blame is externalized, sometimes, it is directed inwards. People blame others, blame the system, blame god, blame time, blame themselves.

This cycle of blame doesn’t help anyone. Assigning blame, especially when we are grasping at that blame as a coping mechanism because there is nothing to blame for or about, does not make things better. Blame does not help us grieve, help us heal. This is a reminder I have echoed to my family, to myself, repeatedly over the past few days. Let us help ourselves, rather than try to drag others down in our grief.

September 24, 2014

Celebratory dinners at restaurants where the menu makes me salivate.

I don’t do well with menus. I love looking at them, and exploring all the components that make up each dish, and trying to gleam a little bit about the personality of the chef based on what they decide to list on their menu and how they decide to describe each item. I love the design of menus, and enjoy trying to figure out why certain decisions were made around typography, layout, shape, and size.

I don’t however, do well with making a decision on what to eat. I’d much rather someone present me with food that they feel I would enjoy, and surprise me each time a new dish is presented on the table. Maybe it’s because I’m indecisive, but I like to say that the real reason is that I like to trust others with what they do best. The chef knows her menu better than I do; I trust in her skill, decision-making, and mood.

September 25, 2014

There is a difference between loneliness and being alone. For the most part, I am good at being alone — at least, I am now; when I was younger, it was harder for me — and yet I hardly ever feel lonely. There is always a sense, inside, that there is someone with me (figuratively) and I have nothing to worry about.

Tonight, I had a flash of loneliness. I am not sure if it was because my love has gone west for two weeks and I was missing her, or because I am probably coming down with a cold and illness, however slight, requires company, but there was a brief moment when I realized I wasn’t just alone, but lonely.

The feeling of loneliness passed, quickly. It always does, when it comes, infrequent as that may be.

Things to eat for breakfast: paneer boroshteh and (not pictured) kalleh pacheh — a soup made of sheep’s head and hooves.

September 26, 2014

There are few better ways to spend an afternoon than reading, drinking coffee, and eating deviled eggs

September 27, 2014

Susan Poizner of Orchard People created a short recap video of the apple tasting event I helped host today, and was reminded that I really don’t like being in front of a camera. I do, however, love apples — and was extremely honored to be asked to help out at this wonderful community event. (Thanks, Suzanne!)

Apple tasting events are fun. Being interviewed on camera is fun, but harrowing once you see how bad you actually look on the screen.

September 28, 2014

Today, I spent six hours lying in the hammock in my backyard, soaking up the abnormally-hot September sun while reading non-fiction. Life can be ridiculously indulgent, sometimes.

--

--