Difficult questions, simple answers.

SO, HOW MANY OF YOUR BOOKS ARE BESTSELLERS?

Answer me honestly!

Pravin Shekar
The Outlier Marketer

--

A dialogue with an acquaintance:

So, HOW MANY OF YOUR BOOKS ARE BESTSELLERS?
ME: ALL OF THEM!

But that is not possible. You’re kidding!?
ME: No

Tell me more. I’m calling your bluff.
ME: What is a best seller?

Oh, top ten in the Wall Street journal. In the New York Times list.
ME: Who decides that?

Well…. the world does. Everyone does.
ME: Why? Who?

<Silence>

ME: Why do you want to measure my success with the benchmarks set by someone else? For a completely different segment or geography?
Do you compare your life with a Hollywood or Bollywood hero? Have you won gallantry awards? Are you the prime minister of India? Have you invented a life-saving drug?
None of the above. Then is your life a waste?

No, how can you say that? I never wanted any of it. I’m living my life my way — the way I want. I’m happy. What kind of nonsense comparisons are you putting up?

Answer my question. How is your book, all your books, a best seller?

ME: I write for my micro-market. A subset of that is my named set of real people. I know them. I write for them. My success is when learning is implemented well. When their life and business grows.

I define who my books are written for. That micro segment consumes it. Shares it. Gives me feedback. And works with me on it.

How else do I classify it but a best seller!

Do not measure my success by your parameters!

Pravin Shekar is an outlier marketer, parallel entrepreneur and a raconteur.

mic @ PravinShekar.com .

Pravin is the author of seven books: Devil Does Care, Marketing lessons from Mythology, Getting paid to speak, a Virtual Summit Playbook, Climb your way out of hell & a collection of travel pics/romantic poems, and stories from the heart!

http://tiny.cc/PravinShekarBooks

#Marketing #Entrepreneur #Awareness #Strategy #Outlier #Outliermarketing #micromarketer #idea #tribe #Books #krux108 #PravinShekar #OutlierPravin #motivation

--

--