One

THE CYCLE WHEEL

It keeps on rolling!

Pravin Shekar
The Outlier Marketer

--

My first memory.

That rotating cycle wheel.

How I loved playing with it, for hours on end!

The wheel helped me get on my feet. Sitting on the cycle center bar as my grandfather cycled across the village. My own transport with my own chauffeur. It was my job to clean it up every day and keep it spanking clean. What pride it was! Only I was given that task. And I did it with gusto.

The trip to the stream nearby. To the sweet shop. To get dropped and picked up from school. The wheel and my grandpa, always intertwined. As I grew taller, I could somehow start cycling while I could barely climb onto the cycle. The world-famous, at least in my parts, of “monkey-pedaling”! Both hands on the steering handle, one foot across the central portion to reach the pedal on the other side: Half-pedaling away to freedom!

The cycle was overhauled and refurbished and continued to roll through. I grew up and used it to go to school and to college. The wheel kept turning as my passengers on the cycle changed. The wheels were a part of my first proposal, my first break-up, patch-up, meet-up, make-up!

I moved on from the cycle to a motorbike and a car, and more.

The cycle left a part of my memory. Nostalgic. A key connection with my past, my history, and my culture.

Until I got a message. The wheels were punctured, and it was time to return home.

To bid adieu to my grandfather, who cycled till his last day.

The wheels were bequeathed to me in his last will and testament; to me.

I brought it back to my city and cleaned it up.

I smile as I cycle this morning to drop my daughter. To school.

So, the cycle may repeat again.

**

QUESTIONS FOR THE MARKETER:

Does the past ever leave us?

It does, in patches, always returning stronger.

Bell bottom pants, pink shirts and hippy style, long sideburns to the fringe!

Are we capturing nostalgia and emotion in our communication….?

Pravin Shekar is an outlier marketer, parallel entrepreneur and a raconteur.

mic @ PravinShekar.com .

For creative collusions, join: http://bit.ly/JoinMyOutlierTribe

Pravin is the author of eight books: http://tiny.cc/PravinShekarBooks

Devil Does Care, Marketing lessons from The Art of War, Marketing lessons from Mythology, Getting paid to speak, a Virtual Summit Playbook, Climb your way out of hell, a collection of travel pics/romantic poems, and stories from the heart!

#Marketing #Entrepreneur #Awareness #Strategy #Outlier #Outliermarketing #micromarketer #idea #tribe #Books #krux108 #PravinShekar #OutlierPravin

--

--