Who are these “others” anyway?

Why do we always look for external/outside gratification of our work?

Why the why?

Pravin Shekar
The Outlier Marketer

--

Seoul street art Pic Pravin Shekar

Why do we always look for external/outside gratification of our work?

Have you wondered?

If I create something, I want it reviewed. No, ratified.
By those around me, by those consuming my creation.

I want them to rate it high, as that is what brings me the most satisfaction. If there is a one-star somewhere, that raises my ire. How could he?
Must be a nincompoop.

So a request for review isn’t just a review. It is a hidden request for self-aggrandizement. A request for flattery. And perhaps tokenism in terms of feedback. Just a little touch-up to the make-up, here and there.

Why can’t we do something for ourselves?
Just for I, me, myself!

Cooking, writing, singing, whatever.
By me. For me. Without any self-deprecation.

It does happen once in a while. There is an inherent need, a desire, a hunger to publish the work. To put it out there.

And then the fear. What if people don’t like it? What if they find out I am no good? What if I get an offensive rating or comment? What if I am trolled?

What if we create, for ourselves and perhaps a small set, and go ahead and post it? Share it. Let it out in the world.

And move on to the next creation. External validation be damned, for a bit.

Is it vanity? Of course!
I have written this article. I will definitely pop in and out to see if there is any reaction, engagement, or comment.

But, a big but, should I let that validation, good or bad, affect me?
Should I let that redefine my work, the work I create as my own expression?

Pravin Shekar is an outlier marketer, parallel entrepreneur and a raconteur.

mic @ PravinShekar.com .

Pravin is the author of seven books: Devil Does Care, Marketing lessons from Mythology, Getting paid to speak, a Virtual Summit Playbook, Climb your way out of hell & a collection of travel pics/romantic poems, and stories from the heart!

http://tiny.cc/PravinShekarBooks

#Marketing #Entrepreneur #Awareness #Strategy #Outlier #Outliermarketing #micromarketer #idea #tribe #Books #krux108 #PravinShekar #OutlierPravin

--

--