J. Edgar: The Film That Changed My Life

A biopic of a monster motivated me to come out as gay.

Matt Erspamer
The Outtake

--

By MATT ERSPAMER

J. Edgar (2011), Clint Eastwood’s biopic of FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover, is uncomfortable to sit through.

It’s uncomfortable to see Leonardo DiCaprio portray a monster like Hoover as achingly, sympathetically human. It’s uncomfortable to watch DiCaprio, Armie Hammer, and Naomi Watts perform in subpar, old-age make-up. It’s uncomfortable to sit in a movie theater in central Michigan when a large portion of the audience boos and cries out in disgust when two men kiss onscreen.

That hissing at the screen and the movie itself were both catalysts for me:

J. Edgar pushed me to come out as gay to my friends and family.

In a more perfect version of this story, my college roommates and I would ride home from the cinema, and I would use the movie as a way of bringing it up just to them. But alas, I was (yet again) too nervous.

J. Edgar festered though. It stayed in the back of my mind for several weeks, until holiday break kept drawing closer and closer — and I pushed myself to start telling people.

During that in-between period, I kept thinking about how prominently the feeling of self-loathing factored into nearly every aspect of the movie, and how Dustin Lance Black’s screenplay showed the horrors of the closet writ large over twentieth-century America. In fact, the film’s climatic scene still haunts me: a violent kiss between Hoover and his sort-of lover, Clyde Tolson (Hammer), after an argument over a woman.

In an attempt to distance myself from identifying with J. Edgar Hoover as much as possible, I started unspooling the self-loathing around my gayness. The way DiCaprio conveyed Hoover’s exhaustion made me realize how tired I was of putting on my own act, pretending every time I wanted to have sex with another guy it would be another experiment.

I’m still unspooling. I haven’t re-watched J. Edgar in its entirety since I saw it in theaters. Unlike most movies, I’m more than content to leave it up there on the screen.

While I wouldn’t say I enjoyed J. Edgar, it has had more of a positive impact on my life than any other movie I can think of. I saw an awful, complex, twisted man onscreen, and I did not want to be like him at all — and yet I was.

I did not want to be the creepy old man listening to a wiretap of Martin Luther King, Jr. having sex. I wanted to kiss Armie Hammer and not feel bad about it. So I changed.

If you enjoyed this, please hit the green “Recommend” button below so others might also enjoy it.

Follow THE OUTTAKE: Medium | Twitter | Facebook

--

--