Sexual assault matters, Mr. Trump

An issue worth the time.

Joshua Rothstein
The Overtime
4 min readOct 25, 2016

--

Donald Trump Speaking at FITN Republican Leadership Summit, Nashua, New Hampshire (Michael Vandon/Flickr)

My twin sister is my best friend. Like many twins, we have fought consistently throughout our lives. As we have grown up, however, one thing has stayed constant. If anyone made fun of me, she was always there to protect me; and vice-versa. We still occasionally fight, but I am forever grateful that she and I have become so close, although we now currently go to different colleges.

It’s been hard not bickering through Spanish class with her or going out to the diner on Wednesday afternoons. But the hardest part about not seeing her everyday is being so far apart from her when she is most vulnerable: at college parties.

The National Sexual Violence Resource Center reports that one in five women will be sexually assaulted in college. My own college’s Harassment and Sexual Misconduct Board recently published their yearly report, leading to widespread discussions and protests surrounding punishment for those found guilty. It is fundamentally obvious that the way we as society deal with sexual offenders has to change.

At the college I currently attend, two students, found guilty of non-consensual sexual contact and stealing ice-cream from a dining hall, respectively, received the identical punishment.

On a national level, the National Football League fined two players, Odell Beckham Jr. and Vernon Davis, for excessive celebration, while admitted domestic abuser Josh Brown was not fined nor suspended, although he was recently cut by the Giants — only after a wave of public pressure.

One sexual assault is too many, and the way colleges, the NFL, and the world as a whole treats these cases needs to change immediately. This contemporary failure is demonstrated by the fact that while 11 women have accused Donald Trump of sexual assault, the media and American public have both seemingly dismissed the accusations. Allowing a presidential candidate, such as Mr. Trump, to normalize sexual assault is horrifying and could lead to widespread consequences that we do not want to face.

My sister lives 200 miles away from me, meaning I cannot be there to check every watered-down beer she’s handed on weekend nights. I cannot speak with every fraternity brother who lies about the contents of the punch they try to serve her. I cannot be there to make sure she is always safe. But I cannot stay silent while a sexual abuser runs for the most powerful job in the world, normalizing rape culture and thereby endangering my sister and all women in the process.

I am someone who has spent a lot of time in lockers rooms, from my days of middle school soccer, high school lacrosse and collegiate water polo. I have spent time in the locker rooms of private schools and public schools, various cities and states, and even in Europe on a semester abroad. While I’ve had conversations in locker rooms with people I like and respect, I have also had conversations with people who I can’t stand and have no respect for.

I can say with absolute certainty, however, that I have never had a locker room conversation which normalized sexual assault. Donald Trump’s leaked audio is not an example of locker room talk, and every person who has ever spent time in a locker room, including pro athletes such as LeBron James and Eric Weddle, knows this.

When Donald Trump chooses to talk about “much more important things and much bigger things” he is saying that sexual assault is an issue not worth his time. Yes, ISIS exists. Yes, U.S. immigration needs reform. There are certainly numerous real issues in this world — but that doesn’t make sexual assault less important. When he says things like “it’s one of those things” or “frankly, you hear these things” I am terrified and outraged. Sexual assault is not simply “one of those things.”

In his leaked audio, Trump brazenly brags about sexually assaulting women as a normal behavior of his. Famed UCLA basketball coach John Wooden once said “the true test of a man’s character is what he does when no one is watching.” Never has Coach Wooden been proven more correct than by Donald Trump’s private boastfulness and public cowardice.

Trump has failed to provide a legitimate response to or apology for his words and actions. By pivoting to talk about “more important issues” he has demonstrated an unbelievable lack of understanding as to why sexual assault is serious. The reality of the situation, however, is a lot scarier. If these are the comments Trump makes to friends, imagine what he does in private. In fact, we don’t even have to imagine, we just have to listen to the ever-growing list of women accusing Mr. Trump.

I’m with her and have been for this entire election. You, however, can disagree with Hillary Clinton all you want — like every political candidate, she is flawed, with issues ranging from Benghazi to her emails to legitimate quandaries over her policy positions. However, as an American, as a member of a family of strong women, and as a human who tries to live morally every day, I urge those reading this to consider the consequences which could emanate from Donald Trump, a sexist who views sexual assault as unworthy of his time, becoming President.

I may not be able to check every beverage my sister drinks. I can’t talk to every fraternity brother trying to hang out with her. I can’t make sure she is safe at every party. But she has always stood up for me and now its time for me and all men everywhere stand up for her, the women we cherish, and basic morality itself.

--

--

Joshua Rothstein
The Overtime

Long suffering Mets and Knicks fan. Currently binge watching The Office. Hit me up on twitter @joshmrothstein.