I’m Starting a Newsletter

Where I’ll recommend stories, songs, art, and other such musings.

Akshay Gajria
Missives from an Island
2 min readApr 27, 2020

--

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
- Haruki Murakami

I’ve always been like this, the oddball. Going in search of books and stories no one else is talking about. Obscure titles, random recommendations, judging covers by the text inside. My tastes never seemed to resonate with anyone, and I’ve spent many months thinking whether my taste was just bad. But eventually, when I started talking about some of the things I enjoy, people started to note the love I had for them, and some started to care about what I had to say. It’s been a stupendous journey of self-discovery, and I’d been plagued with enough self doubt before I even considered doing this. ‘Being not ready’ is an excuse that’s always been at hand. This lockdown has been a blessing in many ways and I think it’s time I get a little more uncomfortable. In this monthly newsletter I’ll recommend stories in the myriad forms that I consume in an almost frenzy, and other musings I have sitting behind my desk. Let’s talk about the obscure, vague, grey, shaded, and the illegible. Will you join me down this rabbit hole?

The newsletter will arrive in your inbox on the 30th of every month. Subscribe here:

Akshay G. is learning to open up.

--

--