Sandra M Urquhart
The Pain Manifesto
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2018

--

Does time heal pain? Or does it only help you cope with it?

In answering this question, we need to separate the factors.

First, is the factor of time. Second, is the factor of pain. Third is the function of both in conjunction with each other.

Personally, I have had many battles with time. For a while, it was a consistent enemy that I was at war with.

It kept me in constant frustration, and I often fussed at God about why I have to live in earth time, and not in His time in infinity, where there is no clock.

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Time can be one’s good friend; but in this day and age I think it is closer to its evil twin: the harsh taskmaster.

It’s enough that an unstructured, free spirits, like myself, would struggle with the concept of teaming up with time; but now it’s sudden race-like speed and trajectory towards a climactic future, has the most well structured, organized people racing around trying to fit their agendas into it.

It is an unbridled horse that cannot be broken.

What about pain?

Most people think my description of time would fit pain better. Most believe that pain is uncontrollable without the use of some sort of stimulant.

People believe this because that is what they are programmed to believe in the profitable sickness system that hides behind the mainstream label of “Health Care” in this country.

Is pain controllable?

Well, that depends.

What does it depend on?

It depends on what your perspective is.

It depends on your willingness to listen.

It depends on your willingness to change.

Pain is, at the heart of it, the results of our thoughts.

It manifests most often due to our beliefs.

It is a result of our lifestyles.

It shows up because of our habits, and is the offspring of our choices.

How do they play together?

Not well, usually.

I would venture to say that if you asked most people about the intersection of time with the escalation of a pain problem, they might describe it as a slow ascension into hell.

But, then again, as I said earlier, it depends on one’s perspective, as well as the type of pain being referenced.

If the referral is to pain on an emotional level, a relationship per say; then it seems to me that the level of devastation over it ending might depend greatly on the level of selfishness in the relationship to start off with.

Some people come into our lives for a season only, and if we are selfish or self-centered, we fail to recognize such wisdom, and try to hold on instead of letting go.

And I’ll be all right

And I’ll love again

And the wounds will mend

I’m bruised but not broken

And the pain will fade

I’ll overcome my fear

Is not the end of me

My heart is still open now

I’m bruised but not broken…Josh Stone

On the other hand, time can secretly work against us in conjunction with pain.

There are imbalances that occur in the body over time that result in pain. These are the results of habits, which are birthed from our thoughts due to our lifestyles.

So again, managing pain on this level depends greatly on the factors listed above as to whether or not healing can take place at all.

Does time heal pain?

Time can both cause pain and heal it, but the mitigating factor of any view on pain is perspective. What do you believe? What is your choice? And, what do you choose to do about it?

--

--

Sandra M Urquhart
The Pain Manifesto

Entrepreneur; LMT — Medical Bodyworker — expertise: Pain Patterns & unlocking muscle; Writer, Lover of Christ & Mother of one. http://crossofpain.com