Going home

Smita Vyas Kumar
The Panchgani Pen
Published in
2 min readMay 21, 2020
Drawing by Smita Vyas Kumar

I am going home
But I’m leaving home.
Yes, it was small
But it was home.
I went to work
And returned at dusk
With money in my wallet
And ice cream for my kids.

This frilly dress
My daughter is wearing?
She insisted on wearing it
For this journey.
I got it for her birthday.
What a grand party we had.
We played loud music and danced
Though the big building next door complained
We cut a cake and everyone came.

Now we are all going home
To a place, I go on vacation.
How long will I stay there
Till the smiles stop reaching the eyes
Of those who welcomed me each summer?
I have nothing to offer
Except for a disease
I may carry on my bag.|

My 'basti' is small and crowded
But it was my home.
The city gave me money and friends.
It gave me clients who asked for me by name.
I do the best eyebrows and threading.
Mothers bring their teens to me
For their first waxing. No tears. That’s me.

Where will my daughter study now?
She goes to a private English school.
What songs she sings!
She was crying because I left her books.
So I let her wear the dress.
We could only take a few things.
My neighbour has kept a bag for me.
For how long I wonder.

Will I come back home?
After I go back home?

--

--