The Sulk

Smita Vyas Kumar
The Panchgani Pen
Published in
1 min readMay 22, 2020
Photo by Smita Vyas Kumar

Whey won’t you bloom
Gulmohar tree?
What have I done
To upset you?

Every morning of summer
You greeted me
An Oriental Edelweiss,
But now you stand bare
Your branches twisted
Into a pout.

The koel sings like last year.
The lawn sparkles green
People are eating mangoes
And sleeping it off in long siestas.
But you stand there, arms crossed
Refusing to give me a sign
That you see me.

I am sorry.
I am sorry for what I have done
And for what I have not done
For all that I have ignored
And all I have seen and let happen.

Please bloom for me before it rains.
Tell me it will be alright.
Gulmohar give me a sign
Small and bright
Clean and light
Please tell me
You’re happy to see me.

--

--