Creating Music Amid Spain’s Collective Failure to the Pandemic

Laura E. Vasilion
The Pandemic Project
5 min readNov 25, 2020

--

How Composer Mario Vinuela is Adapting to the Crisis in Spain

The view from Mario’s studio.

Mario is a 38-year-old composer living in Gijon, a city in the north of Spain. He runs a recording studio with his wife, Elena. They develop audiovisual projects such as audio books, soundtracks, video production, and give classes in voiceover and dubbing. Currently, he is living through the pandemic in Spain by combining his life in the studio with life at home.

“Since March, I have only left my place three times and it has been for work. I miss traveling (especially Berlin and Rome), but I understand that right now it is just impossible and I will have to plan those trips for the future. Our habits have changed since a few months ago and there is no choice but to adapt, to survive, and to see it positively. Now I have more time to read, to compose music, and to learn new skills.”

Following, is my interview with Mario.

Please describe how the pandemic has disrupted your daily life.

I am one of the lucky few who have not seen their work affected in a general way. It is true that I have had to postpone the composition of two plays and the premiere of another because of the pandemic, as well as to lengthen excessively the recording of my new album, ‘Lifetime,’ which was planned…

--

--

Laura E. Vasilion
The Pandemic Project

Editor of Present Tense and Talking to the World. Author, blogger, novelist. Would rather be living in Iceland. Also known as Laura E. Melull and Laura E. Hill.