Pandemic Yields One Unexpected Gain for Spanish Musician

Laura E. Vasilion
The Pandemic Project
4 min readDec 29, 2020

--

Igor Paskual Talks About His Musicial Journey During Covid-19

Spanish Rock Musician Igor Paskual

For those in the arts, the pandemic has been especially cruel. In Spain, as elsewhere, musicians are struggling to adapt to the loss of live concert opportunities. Igor Paskual, one of Spain’s popular rock and roll musicians, talks about how he is coping with the challenges the pandemic has created.

Please describe the changes you’ve experienced since the pandemic arrived in Spain.

I normally work from home, so I am used to that. However, I did have to learn to have a daily routine, something that I hadn’t experienced in a while. I must say that it has been a very rewarding experience.

At the same time that I was losing income, I started gaining something that is much more valuable: time.

Having time helped me rethink my artistic direction, something that under normal circumstances would be difficult to do without that perspective. On top of that, I was able to spend a lot of time studying, not only my instrument but also music history, new rhythms and different sounds that you can assimilate and make your own.

How is Spain coping with the pandemic?

Spain is a country in which the individual communities can have some measure of…

--

--

Laura E. Vasilion
The Pandemic Project

Editor of Present Tense and Talking to the World. Author, blogger, novelist. Would rather be living in Iceland. Also known as Laura E. Melull and Laura E. Hill.