The Results Are In: Trigger Warnings Make Life Worse

Trigger Warning: Controversy, opinions, flying feathers.

Argumentative Penguin
The Panopticon

--

A cartoon penguin sits in an empty cinema gazing directly to the audience with an annoyed ‘tired of this’ expression. Displayed on the cinema screen behind the Penguin are the words ‘Trigger Warning’ in bold white font.
CREDIT: Author generated AI

All the way back in 2022, I wrote about trigger warnings. Reading it back this week, it turns out I was just my usual opinionated self. When I get a bee in my beak I don’t hold back. For context, back then I’d just heard about a trigger warning being placed on a production of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet here in London.

A piece of creative writing so ubiquitous and widely read that most ten-year-olds in the world can tell you the plot.

Here’s me going full Penguin snarktillery.

This appeal to a higher authority to provide moral arbitration and come down on the side of safety and complicit silence is indicative of a quiet and insidious paternalism. A paternalism evoked by the sort of people who will listen when some idiot suggests putting a trigger warning on a four-hundred-year-old play.

Instead of laughing and refusing like I would.

Were I to refuse I would’ve been carted up in front of a social media based welfare and equality tribunal. Fairness by force which challenges the structures of patriarchy largely by metaphorically cutting its penis off and doing the exact same thing — like the Stasi but with unicorns and better branding.

--

--

Argumentative Penguin
The Panopticon

Playwright. Screenwriter. Penguin. Fan of rationalism and polite discourse. Find me causing chaos in the comments. Contact: argumentativepenguin@outlook.com