I Survived The Bell Witch.

L. Sydney Fisher, M.Ed.
The PARA Scope
Published in
6 min readJun 4, 2018

--

Home of The Bell Witch, Adams, Tennessee.

I remember being mesmerized by The Bell Witch stories when I was a child. I read at least 3 or 4 different books on the subject and vowed that I would someday travel to the small town of Adams, Tennessee where the infamous Bell Witch once lived. Now three decades later, I can now mark it off my bucket list and instead pencil it in on my “Must Return” list.

Last Saturday May 26th, 2018, a friend and I traveled to the farm located about 55 miles north of Nashville. Upon entering the small community of Adams, Tennessee, I immediately sensed the remnants of a time past as my friend, Katy (not to be confused with Kate Batts) drove along a rural county highway, following the Bell Witch signs strategically placed along the roadside. The rolling hills extended for miles on what was once hundreds of acres of farmland owned by John Bell, Sr.

The lush, green grass and wooded landscape was surrounded by rustic fences that gave the property a warm and inviting feel unlike the memories that the Bell Witch had left behind 200 years before. And although Katy and I reveled in the beauty of the area, we both couldn’t deny our apprehension as we approached the entrance to the site of the Bell Witch Cave.

--

--

L. Sydney Fisher, M.Ed.
The PARA Scope

Sydney is a bestselling author & lifetime paranormal researcher. You’ll find a plethora of topics here & often with a paranormal twist! Rule #1–Don’t be boring.