The GHOSTS of Rose Hall: A Jamaica Haunting

L. Sydney Fisher, M.Ed.
The PARA Scope
Published in
7 min readMar 24, 2019

--

As an author of all things paranormal or supernatural, my enthusiasm for unexplained mysteries has spanned more than three decades and included visits to some of America’s most haunted places. But when I found out that Jamaica was one of the ports of call on a cruise that I was taking, I knew that I had to see the famously haunted Rose Hall in Montego Bay.

As a clairvoyant/medium, my excitement raged as I anxiously waited to get inside this historic mansion. Tales of a white witch who practiced voodoo and tortured slaves on this sugar plantation filled my internet search. I scoured through page after page as I researched Rose Hall before my arrival, but as I continued to study numerous articles, I was somewhat disappointed to discover that the legend of the white witch was most likely fictional. And yet as I searched, numerous reports of the mansion’s haunting still continued to mount. I wondered whose spirit was lingering there. If Annie Palmer was not guilty of the horrific acts associated with her name at Rose Hall, then who could be haunting the mansion and why?

Upon arriving, I was stunned by the Georgian style mansion’s grandeur as it was more splendid than its online pictures. The house was built in the 1770’s by Fulke Rose and later became the property of John Palmer in the 1800’s, but the house suffered serious damage from a fire…

--

--

L. Sydney Fisher, M.Ed.
The PARA Scope

Sydney is a bestselling author & lifetime paranormal researcher. You’ll find a plethora of topics here & often with a paranormal twist! Rule #1–Don’t be boring.