TPS Real Talk: Working Remotely

Lauren Kovaleski
The Paradigm Switch
6 min readNov 21, 2020

The Paradigm Switch is on a mission to teach military spouses how to live life to the fullest anywhere in the world. For many of us, that means working remotely or from our home. Now more than ever companies are switching to a remote workforce. While remote work is extremely valuable for military spouses, it can often decrease our connection with those outside of just work and family. For me, having a healthy balance between work, family and my own time has been a struggle this year. There were days I would walk directly from my bed to my computer and not power down until my spouse came home from work, giving myself no space to do anything other than work, cook dinner, go to bed and start it over again in 8 hours. Learning to find your balance and boundaries as a remote worker is a journey.

TPS is here to walk that journey with you!

Today we are joined by three military spouses. Madison Hendrickson is a Patient Access Manager that works for an Ear, Nose, and Throat physician’s office, overseeing incoming referrals, and their Centralized Services department. Susan Lee is a Salesforce Consultant, who designs solutions that streamline organizational processes and enhance work productivity, specifically serving non-profit organizations. Rachel Stuart is a teacher and educational technologist at a small private school based in Atlanta, who splits her time between teaching and administrative work, focusing on developing and maintaining student information systems and learning management systems as well as teaching teachers how to use technology.

All three incredible women work remotely and serve as members of the TPS team! While their careers are vastly different, each is bound by the common struggles many of us experience as remote workers.

How do you navigate the daily distractions of working remotely from your home?

Madison: Some days it can be harder than others, but I think that having a dedicated office space makes it easier to get into “work mode” and shut out distractions like the laundry or household chores.

Susan: I set very clear boundaries. I only work in my office and I plan out my weekly schedule that involves work and family time. I also don’t have my work email on my phone to prevent work from distracting me 24/7. I set clear expectations with my co-workers and my family, and regularly reinforce them.

Rachel: My main distractions are my dog and husband’s crazy work schedule. Sometimes my husband is working all day, sometimes he is working all night. It’s hard to schedule time together when I am teaching on Zoom and he’s home doing stuff around the house until he leaves for work (if he is working nights). I am lucky to have my own workspace so that he is not disturbed when I teach.

How do you make your WFH space focus and productivity friendly, that you couldn’t do in a normal office setting?

Madison: I bought my own stand-up desk, light candles throughout the day, play music, and decorate the whole area exactly how I want with pictures and plants. There’s only so much decorating you can do in an office or cubicle, so I really like the ability to personalize my whole area.

Susan: I have a yoga mat that I sometimes use to stretch on during calls when I don’t have to be on video. I also wear Crocs while I’m standing, which I would never do in public :D

Rachel: In a normal school setting, I wouldn’t be allowed a standing desk! I am really happy that I have a standing desk in my home office so that I can change it up between sitting and standing.

As a military spouse, how did pursuing a remote career improve your career growth?

Madison: I’ve been working from home for about 5 years now and honestly have just taken what has come around as far as positions. About a year ago I changed jobs because I felt like I wasn’t going to be able to grow anywhere in the company I was at. They didn’t have a work from home culture. I moved to a company where everyone works from home and realized I was having the same issue. I was used to being noticed in an office because of my work ethic and it takes more to show that when people are working together in an office. It takes a lot of active communication, which I realized I needed to work on. Once I realized that I was offered an opportunity to go back to my former employer and I expressed how I needed to be more involved and kept in the loop. I was very open and honest about how I felt and why I left originally, and they were able to put me exactly where I needed to be for my skills.

Susan: It ended up being a blessing in disguise. Pursuing a remote career prepared me for COVID-19, and I joke about how my job was ‘pandemic proof.’ Since working remotely was a fairly new concept a year ago, it forced me to pivot industries and translate my skill set to new roles.

Rachel: Transitions are hard — that’s probably the understatement of the year! Still, because I work remotely, every time we had to move over the last few years, I was able to maintain employment and growth. That alone promotes a major reduction in stress levels and uncertainty about the future. Additionally, after a few years of teaching in person, I realized that I was feeling burnt out and needed to change how I approach work-life balance. I credit my continued growth (I finished a Master’s Degree in Educational Technology and Instructional Design, the GreenFig digital marketing certification, and am now starting a blog!) to this lifestyle and workstyle choice.

How do you separate work and non-work time? What helps you power down?

Madison: I have a dedicated office that I clean up and shut down at the end of the day as if I was leaving a physical office. It has helped me not feel like I have to be logged in at every hour.

Susan: I start my day with yoga and journaling, and end my day with my family in the living room. I try not to start and end my day with work. I literally shut down my computer when I’m done with work.

Rachel: I am so lucky to have a home office. I find that the defined space for my work life promotes a healthy routine for when I work and when I rest.

Do you recommend any publications, podcasts or other resources for new remote workers?

Madison: Not off the top of my head but I am always willing to be a resource for anyone who wants to learn more about working from home.

Susan: The first thing that comes to mind is reminding people that working from home during a global pandemic is tough and no one knows the “right” way to do things. I recommend reading books by Simon Sinek, especially his latest book The Infinite Game and Kristin Hadeed’s Permission to Screw Up.

Rachel: I am going to shamelessly plug for the TPS curriculum! I think the resources found there are vital to any success, whether it’s an in-person job or one that you can do from home. I listen to The Optimal Living Daily Podcast every day, although it is not focused on remote working specifically, it does focus on personal development and I find the topics covered on the podcast important for my inner growth. I also am heavily addicted to listening to audiobooks through Libby, a local library resource for audiobooks.

TPS Real Talk is here to be a reassuring voice in all the crazy that you’ve got this! You are not alone, and we want to hear from you. How do you find balance as a remote worker? Share your stories with us here!

--

--