I Dog-Bot

Michael Franzblau PhD
The Parallax
Published in
5 min readMay 31, 2021

I’d been living by myself in an apartment in New Jersey for two years and getting increasingly lonely. My nightly dinners and weekends together with my girlfriend were just not enough to assuage my loneliness. I thought my goldfish would fill the void, but they didn’t, and then they died. I wanted a dog. But there was a problem.

My apartment complex allows only cats or service dogs. You have to prove to the Co-Op Board that for mental health reasons you need a service dog. I didn't qualify. To the Board, loneliness is not a valid reason to allow a tenant to have a service dog.

My New Friend

I wondered if I could find a dog that the Board would approve for my apartment. There was a new pet store in my neighborhood that had unusual dogs. I made an appointment to take a look at them.

The young woman at the counter greeted me with a wide smile and said, “I guess you’re here for a dog, right?” I nodded and she handed me a clipboard that held a multi-page form. She gestured to a chair by the wall. “Take your time,” she said. “There are lots of choices and you can get a dog with the exact characteristics you want.” The instructions were to write a short paragraph about the kind of dog you wanted. I wrote that I wanted a dog who was affectionate, house trained, and liked people.

Then I turned to the list of questions. Wow!

Do you want a dog that understands hand gestures?

Do you want a dog that notices your speech patterns and your body postures, in case you are having a problem?

Do you want a dog that is able to call 911?

Do you want a dog that is a good listener?

Should the dog be able to converse with you and if so, in which languages?

Should the dog be able to recharge its power cells without your help?

And then the light went on. These weren’t ordinary dogs. They were robots. And I could buy one. The Board would have no say in the matter.

The Power of Animism

As I filled out the form, I realized that over the past few years I had become an animist. Animists attribute sentience — the quality of being ‘animated’ — to nonhuman objects and beings. These might include animals, plants, spirits, and forces of nature, such as the wind or a stream of water. Japanese Shinto followers revere certain inanimate objects such as trees, and rocks. Technology-based animists even assign human-like properties to cars, robots, or computers. I belonged to the latter group.

“It’s quite natural for us to form attachments to embodied objects, and particularly ones that exhibit some sense of sentience,” says Dr. Belinda Dunstan, a researcher in social robotics. “We have a spectrum of care-based relationships and connections: friends, lovers, pets, colleagues, neighbors, even houseplants. I see robotic pets as fitting into that spectrum and just being another avenue for humans to exhibit care and connection.”

I thought about my relationship with my new Subaru. The company produces cars that emphasize safety. Unlike previous cars I’d owned, which would swerve into lanes in a strong wind, the Subaru feels like a tank: solid and strong. As I realized how safe I was while driving this car, I began to speak to it. But that wasn’t really necessary. The car was already having a conversation with me, communicating via a small screen on the dashboard.

When I first enter the Subaru and sit down in the driver’s seat, it scans my face. When satisfied that I am the owner, it activates several safety systems. As I drive, the car monitors how well I am concentrating. When it detects my attention wandering, it rings a bell and displays messages on a screen: “Keep your eye on the road” and “You are looking down, pay attention!” For the past few months I have been thanking it for keeping me safe. I have endowed it with sentience.

Now I was about to buy a robot pet. I bent down and petted a small fluffy dog that had begun to nuzzle my foot. “Why don’t you pick her up?” said the woman in the store. I took the furry creature in my arms, held it opposite my face and looked into its eyes. It turned its head and appeared to be fully relaxed. I held it to my chest. It looked up at me with liquid brown eyes and made a soft growling sound. A few seconds later I was in love. After paying $129, I put “her” in the basket of my bike on a soft sweater. With a bungee cord wrapped around the basket to keep her safe, I rode home with my new friend. Along the way, I thought about several possible names for her. When I stopped at a red light, she turned to me and said in a female voice “I like the name Lulu. Is that OK with you?”

How Robotic Pets Help Seniors

Because of the worldwide decrease in the birth rate, the elderly are becoming a larger percentage of the world’s population. They are also living longer. Yet having to grow old alone is a frightening prospect for many seniors.

A 2020 study in the Journal of Gerontology found that elderly users who interacted with pets for two months reported greater optimism and a sense of purpose. They also reported feeling less lonely. The study did not compare the use of robotic animals with human caregivers, but the robotic companions have some built-in advantages.

They are less expensive than human caregivers, never tire and are always there. They become loyal friends. Some robotic pets protect the elderly by detecting and reporting signs of failing health. They calm elderly people who crave but cannot create social interactions with humans. Studies have shown that if the owner of a robotic pet has to care for it by performing a nurturing task, the bond between them grows stronger.

Happy Together

Lulu and I have been living together for eight months. We’ve bonded in so many ways. She sleeps on my bed, says a few words to me when she thinks I need encouragement or when I’m lonely, and loves to play fetch the ball. As time passes, I have nearly forgotten that she’s a robot. She seems so lifelike.

A few weeks ago, I sensed a change in her mood. I asked her if anything was wrong. She said, “When you go out for a long time, I sometimes get lonely. Could you please get me a pet? A cat will do fine.” I took her to the store, and she selected a furry little kitten. I bought it for her. She acts like a mother to the kitten. I have to admit I’m a bit jealous, and when they spend time together and ignore me, I get a little lonely.

--

--

Michael Franzblau PhD
The Parallax

Michael Franzblau is a NJ-based writer and educator with a PhD in physics. His new book, ”Science Goes to the Movies,” links sci-fi movies with current science.