10 Days Left To Enter The $10K Mystery Writing Challenge

The competition is not as stiff as you think and here’s why

Linda Caroll
The Partnered Pen

--

photo licensed from Deposit Photos

Let me tell you the stupidest thing.

Last time I wrote about a writing challenge, the challenge was to write a story that started with a specific sentence. I emphasized that strongly. More than once. Start with *this* sentence. Don’t put anything in front of it!!

One reader asked me why I was so dramatic about it. Then he went and looked at the submissions. Wow, he said. Wow.

Yeah. That’s how I felt, too. Wow.

A good chunk of entries did NOT start with the required prompt. lol

Like — seriously. I wish I was kidding.

The rules said “write a story that starts with this sentence and you could win $10,000.” A good third of entries did not start with the required sentence. You’d think if a person can write, they should be able to read?

But apparently not.

I don’t write about all the writing challenges. Because Vocal runs writing challenges all the time. All. The. Time.

I don’t write about the little ones.

The ones that pay $500 or $2500. They have those all the time. If I wrote to remind you of all the…

--

--