WRITING

3 Surprising Methods I Use To Help Me Write Better

Sometimes, the least conventional way is the best way to go

Benny Lim
The Partnered Pen
Published in
6 min readMar 26, 2021

--

I’m by no means a writing machine but for someone working a full-time 9–5 job, being as dedicated a husband and father can be, I think I’m doing pretty OK as a writer if I’m still able to write on a daily basis. This, despite not publishing daily on Medium.

And when I say writing daily, I don’t just mean writing 10 to 50 words and then calling it a day. No, I spend easily between 30 to 60 minutes and write anything between 1,000 to 3,000 words — every single day.

It could be a blog post, it could be an article (either a draft or a complete, ready-to-publish one), a song, or just random stuff. But I’d write.

And honestly, you may think it’s hard to find the time to write but 30 minutes isn’t that long. You probably spend the same amount of time checking your phone, scrolling through social media or watching an episode of a TV series on Netflix. Bottom line is, you DO have at least 30 minutes a day to write.

The question should then be, how do I maximise that time to write good content that I can actually use?

Well, that’s what this article is about.

--

--

Benny Lim
The Partnered Pen

Medium writer since 2019, writing my way to a better life, and helping you lead a better life, one article at a time. https://iambennylim.medium.com/membership