Beach Reads and Book Reviews Perfect for a Quarantine Summer

Pleasure reads to get you through a pandemic Summer

Crystal Jackson
The Partnered Pen
Published in
7 min readJun 17, 2020

--

Photo by Markos Mant on Unsplash

While many Americans are rushing toward the nearest beach, there are those of us still at home, longing for escape but hesitant to take it with rising Covid numbers in the news. Whichever situation we find ourselves in, a beach read is still a beach read — a welcome escape and pure pleasure.

As a reader, I appreciate recommendations. As a writer, I know just how important they can be to the authors. Since this year has been so incredibly heavy, I decided to select and review twelve books I’d recommend whether you take your vacation at the beach or whether the only mountain view you’ll get comes from the ever-growing pile of laundry.

The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

I’ll be honest: I didn’t just laugh out loud reading this. I cackled. The dialogue is smart and funny, and the tension between the two main characters, Olive and Ethan, is the perfect combination of loathing and attraction, all set to the backdrop of a Hawaiian honeymoon neither intended to take. The characters were well-developed, the writing is smart, the love story is compelling, and I enjoyed every single page.

The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

--

--