Boredom

Free Verse poem.

Brian Kurian
The Partnered Pen

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Sitting alone
in this dark room
I can’t help but feel consumed
by this boredom
this silence
turning into madness
because I can’t stop
all the thoughts
that race into my mind
wishing I had another way to pass the time
but I’m confined in this prison
the walls are closing in
if I close my eyes and take a deep breath
I can feel what’s about to happen next
time will pass by even more slowly
I’ll begin to feel even more lonely
this is life under quarantine
things aren’t always the way they seem
you wake up the next day
and realize none of this was a dream
the days continue to blur together
and I wonder when this boredom will finally end.

Buy me a coffee or join my email list if you want to receive some free writing resources.

--

--