Confusion

Heather L Huffman
The Partnered Pen
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2019

--

A Poem

Photo by Carolina Heza on Unsplash

A web of dreams in my mind,
a broken and battered wish in my soul.
How can my mind be so old and yet I’m so young?
I am only sixteen yet sometimes I feel twenty, thirty, forty
with the weight of the world bearing down on my conscience.
Other times I feel so young and vulnerable
like the ghost of a lost child that cannot rest.
What am I to do with these emotions?
How can I cope?
Sometimes I feel like a girl with a heart so cold and closed to the world that surrounds me.
Once I thought I found pure happiness and eternal bliss but
it died away like a flame long ago, burnt out from a thought that passed me by.
Most of the time I cannot recall my memories. They haunt me like a lost soul.
Once I even thought I had a friend but everyone’s definition of a friend is different.
They are all gone now and I am all alone in this dark world with nothing to keep me here but visions of my past.

Thank you for reading! Let’s keep in touch.You can sign up for my newsletter here.

This poem was originally published in Escape magazine in 1993 when I was a senior in high school. My creative writing class created this magazine. I am proud to say that it is still being published today.

--

--

Heather L Huffman
The Partnered Pen

Lover of reading and writing. Instagram & Facebook: Author Heather L Huffman POM- Poet💙 Newsletter: https://mailchi.mp/90b57e0dbf8a/heatherlhuffman