Cursive Writing Makes a Comeback as Schools Reintroduce It into the Curriculum

History we don’t want to repeat

Nicole Akers
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by KATRIN BOLOVTSOVA on Pexels

Not everything can be typewritten.

Texas schools got a lesson in education when they tried to remove cursive writing from the curriculum.

As a teacher, I was recently preparing a lesson for students, and a colleague mentioned that students might not be able to read cursive writing.

I was shocked, thinking the teacher was joking at first.

Quickly, I realized this was not a joke.

That colleague was going to type an excerpt from a text so that students could read it.

The excerpt I was using was short, perhaps twelve lines, so I decided to proceed with the comparison exercise and monitor how well students could read it.

I was surprised to see that they struggled.

Some students said, “I can’t read this.”

Others said, “Reading this is hard.”

When I inquired further about what made it hard, students replied that how it’s written makes it hard to read.

I pressed a little more: “Is the content or scrolly writing making the selection difficult to read?”

--

--

Nicole Akers
The Partnered Pen

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.