Dear Businesses, Stop Treating Freelancers Like Crap

A word about freelancing today

Jim Woods
The Partnered Pen
Published in
3 min readNov 4, 2020

--

Photo by Headway on Unsplash

About a year ago, I got a phone call. A phone call that surprised me. One of my clients was calling me right after another team member said the business would be shutting down shop for a month or so for vacation.

But as we chatted, I was told there would be some changes. In the next week a new project administrator would be taking over, and I should be expecting some work over the next week. “Great,” I said.

Another Surprise

Then a few days passed. I shrugged it off for the first two days, but by Wednesday, I was a little nervous. Thursday, I was even more nervous. Friday, I thought I better take action.

I logged into my Slack account and no dice. I figured I forgot the password. I tried again and did the “forget password” option and opened up this email.

Whaaat? I didn’t delete my account. What? That makes no sense! And then it hit me.

This client just flat out deleted my account and didn’t tell me.

--

--

Jim Woods
The Partnered Pen

I help small businesses, writers, and non-profit organizations repurpose their content and create books. Contact me: Jimwoodswrites@gmail.com