Driving Anxiety is More Common Than You Realize

You aren’t alone

Alfie Jane
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Nabeel Syed on Unsplash

Two years ago, a friend and I went on a road trip. I was on vacation in Michigan and went on a road trip to see a friend. On the way home, we stopped so I could drive. My friend drove the whole trip, and she looked like she needed a rest.

Twenty minutes later, my heart is racing, my hands are shaking so bad, they’re white-knuckled on the wheel, and I’m half screaming, half trying to talk to calm down. We pulled into a gas station so my friend could drive again.

My panic attack’s kept me from driving since I moved back to the States.

Before China, I drove all the time. I lived in a small town, so it was near impossible to not have a car. It wasn’t an enjoyable thing for me, but I still did it.

Six years later, I’m back in America. After six months I still haven’t bought a new car. I went driving by myself for the first time.

It’s not like I’ve always been afraid of driving. I never liked it, but never freaked out from driving until recently.

Where did this come from? I used to drive around so much without a second thought. But now, if I’m in a situation where I need to drive, it takes me twenty minutes longer than I need to because I’m dragging my feet out the door.

--

--