Egyptian Young Adults Are Focusing on Self-Growth and Peace Over Politics

What I learned about how the younger generation in Egypt views their own self development vs. their place in politics

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The Partnered Pen

--

I have gotten a few Egyptian students over the months since I started tutoring ESL classes. I always love hearing from them about their country as ancient Egypt is a culture I’ve always found fascinating, from a mythological standpoint, as well as from an archeological one.

The person I spoke with tonight, Seb, was no exception. We worked on English around his position as an import export supervisor. I asked about Egypt’s imports and exports and Seb replied that the main exports are natural gas, gold, cotton textiles, medical and petrochemical products, citrus fruits, rice and dried onion. More recently, he added, they’ve begun to export cement, steel, and ceramics.

As for imports, Seb said petroleum, cars, broadcasting equipment, wheat, corn, and soybeans, are their main ones. I asked what countries Egypt exports to and import from and he responded they import mostly from China, Russia, U.S., Germany and Saudi Arabia and import from Italy, U.S. Turkey, UAE, and Saudi Arabia. However, he also mentioned that their import export business sector is affected by Egypt’s Trade Unions…

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The Partnered Pen

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank