Here’s How You Can Find 3 of the Most Breathtaking Oregon Hiking Trails

Explore Mother Nature for fun and for free in Eugene, Oregon

Michelle Marie Warner
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by author — Wild Iris Ridge hiking trail, 2018, Eugene, OR

Eugene, Oregon, is one of my favorite places to hike. Because we get an average of 151 days of rain each year, we get to appreciate the greenery of the multitude of trees and native plants. Now that we live here again, I’ve been discovering new hiking and walking trails.

Many Eugene residents hike in all types of weather year-round. They don’t let the rain stop them from playing outdoors. They throw on a parka and beanie then they’re good to go. I’m not accustomed to the cold yet, but maybe next year I’ll be out with the rest of the longtime Eugene locals.

We’ve had a lot of sunny days in April 2021, so I tried a new-to-me hike, Spencer Butte. I plan to find other less traveled trails in the near future.

Here are a few hikes you can explore for free or cheap in Eugene, Oregon:

Wild Iris Ridge

When I first moved to Eugene in 2018, a new parent friend told me about Wild Iris Ridge, at the corner of South Bertelson and Bailey Hill Road. I found it by entering those streets in my phone’s GPS. It’s considered an easy hike for most, so I thought it would be a great introduction.

--

--

Michelle Marie Warner
The Partnered Pen

Writer of all things personal, socially conscious, sensitive, single LGBTQIA+ mom. Ready to bite off more than I've been chewing. michellewarner718@gmail.com