I Didn’t Buy a Stanley, and I Have No Regrets

I Will Choose Practical Over FOMO Every Time

Gretchen Lee Bourquin
The Partnered Pen

--

Photo by Mitchell Orr on Unsplash

When I searched for a water bottle/ coffee cup to give as a Christmas gift, I had not heard about the current craze for Stanley cups. I just purchased something that fit what I wanted, at a reasonable price. I wound up buying another one for myself in a different color. And I am completely satisfied.

I Consider Myself An Off-Brand

Photo by Rupert Britton on Unsplash

My Stanley knockoff is light blue, holds 32 ounces and does not have a handle, but there were slightly more expensive options that did. In addition to the standard travel coffee lid, there are also two different straw options. I use it exclusively for coffee, so the other straws and lids live in a drawer. It costs me about $15. The Stanley’s I have looked at costs $60 or more. Some of the more specialty, limited edition options have had price tags for hundreds. Even if it were in my budget, I am too practical to spend that kind of money on a cup. As it stands, it took some serious internal debate to convince myself to shell out $15. It was only after I gifted one of those cups to someone that I broke down and got one for myself.

--

--