I Got My Package, But I Still Reported My Delivery Driver

Gretchen Lee Bourquin
The Partnered Pen
Published in
3 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Is Honesty Too Much to Ask For?

Photo by MealPro on Unsplash

I live in a secure apartment building that uses a locker system aimed at keeping deliveries safe. All major delivery people have been given codes that will get them into the building and codes to deliver inside the lockers are posted. Still, packages are often left in other places. Sometimes it is in the entryway vestibule, nowhere near the mailroom. Sometimes they are on the lobby table. Sometimes they are in a random stairwell. Often, they are spewed across the mailroom floor, leaving residents to sift through to find what they ordered.

I do my best to leave proper and reasonable directions on my accounts so it is clear where deliveries should go. So, for the most part, that is where they should be.

I do realize that from time to time it could be hard to get to the lockers. Maybe the mail carrier is there at the same time. Maybe there are other residents taking up space in the mail area, perhaps with large dogs that might be intimidating if you don’t know them. Sometimes, especially over holidays, the secure locker system could fill up, although that is rare.

I don’t report everything. If the delivery makes it to the mailroom, and the driver notes that it is in the mailroom, I usually let it slide. However, there is one thing I don’t

--

--