Investing For Canadians in 2021: My Review of Wealthsimple Trade

An investing solution for people who want to invest, but not sure where to start.

Katy Velvet
The Partnered Pen
Published in
3 min readMay 5, 2021

--

The idea of buying stocks on my own has always been intimidating. Most of my life, I’ve basically walked into a bank, talked to a financial advisor, told him or her what I needed and ended the conversation with, “Sure, that sounds good!”

Fast forward to 2021 and I can finally say that I now have the confidence to independently choose what stocks and ETFs I want to invest in.

For those who are reading, you might already be skeptical of the idea of a trading app. Yes, I also once questioned the safety of it and whether or not it was actually legitimate.

Wealthsimple Trade is Canada’s first commission-free trading platform and it is an extremely trustworthy and reputable brand. Many famous people have invested into the company and it currently has nearly 2 million customers.

Just like the big banks, it is regulated by the IIROC (Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada) and the CIPF (Canadian Investor Protection Fund) — which is a huge plus.

Not convinced? Here are some more things I have discovered about the app and you can decide whether or not it’s right for you.

--

--

Katy Velvet
The Partnered Pen

Freelance writer with a lifetime of stories about mental health, gender inequality and an incurable obsession with cats.