Locked Six Word Poems and Other Pet Peeves I Won’t Pay You For

Unfair practices that will not engender positive regard or engagement.

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The Partnered Pen

--

Source: MaxPixel (CC0)

I seem to be running into more and more things that annoy me these days. They say this happens when you get older. I’m not sure exactly how old older is, but apparently I have reached it.

In following with this, I have run into several practices that writers on Medium employ to increase their earnings that I find particularly irritating. These are things that will guarantee that I won’t engage with your article and you won’t receive any of my membership fee.

Locking Six Word Poems

This has become my pet peeve of the month. There are those individuals who seem to write only Haiku or a mix of Haiku, stories that run around 100 words and pretty much say nothing, or short filler placed around a bunch of link boxes trying to get people to click on other stories.

If these are merely attempts to gain readers I’m not nearly as annoyed by it, though I still can’t say it will impress me. But at least I won’t swear under my breath and jab at the button to take me away as quickly as possible to make sure I don’t register as an undeserved reader.

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The Partnered Pen

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank