Make A Plan for When You Want to Give Up Writing

Mason Sabre
The Partnered Pen
Published in
6 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Maybe the universe is trying to tell me something. Perhaps I’m not meant to be a writer after all.

These are things I’ve said to my wife in the past week or variations of them. It seems that whenever I get a good run with my writing, something comes along and takes my writing time away and makes it virtually impossible to get time to get the words down.

It makes me understand why perfectly good swimmers drown because that’s how I feel. I’m treading water, but the water is getting rougher, and I’m getting tired of trying to swim upstream. Maybe I should just give it up and let myself drown in it all.

Find the Time to Write

I am an advocate for anyone being able to find the time to write. I even wrote a book on writing that included how to do this, and I have various articles talking about it, but wow, life seems to have got me this time. All my usual tricks aren’t working. I feel like I’m ready to give up and that maybe I’m just not cut out to be a working writer.

I’ve tried getting up at 5 am to write or working in the evening to get some words done. I’ve even taken up using dictation in hope to be able to get words on the go, but the more I do to enable myself a good amount of writing time, the harder life seems to make it for me actually to get…

--

--

Mason Sabre
The Partnered Pen

Mason is an author and a teacher. He loves to write and read and will always be a life-long learner. https://www.patreon.com/masonsabre