CONTENT CREATING

Maybe I’m Just Not Cut OutTo Be A Full-time Freelance Writer Or Content Creator

And honestly, I’m starting to accept that maybe it’s OK and I’m where I’m supposed to be at the moment

Benny Lim
The Partnered Pen
Published in
5 min readMar 24, 2023

--

Photo by Gary Fultz on Unsplash

If I’m to be honest with you, I have so much respect for full-time freelance writers and content creators who are making a really nice living creating content online and living the ‘dream’ life that many of us would love to have as well.

But at the same time, I also have so much envy for them as for the last few years, I’ve been trying my hardest to get to where they are.

I’ve been writing on this platform for over 3 years now (coming into my 4th year by July this year), having published nearly 800 articles and making just over $10,000 in that space of time.

While it may seem like a lot of money for some (and it is for me too), there are quite a number of writers on this platform that make the same amount or more in a single month.

After a while, it starts to dawn on me that maybe I’m just not cut out for this freelance writer thing that I want so badly — at least not at this moment.

And maybe that’s OK, that maybe where I am right now is where I’m supposed to be…

--

--

Benny Lim
The Partnered Pen

Medium writer since 2019, writing my way to a better life, and helping you lead a better life, one article at a time. https://iambennylim.medium.com/membership